12 October 2019

Bauke Mollema claims maiden Monument

Bauke Mollema won his first Monument as he soloed to victory at Il Lombardia after attacking on the Civiglio climb

12 October 2019

Bauke Mollema wins 113^ Il Lombardia

The Dutch rider wins solo ahead of Valverde and Bernal in Como

12 October 2019

Il Lombardia: the last of the monuments is underway

Many of cycling’s biggest names race this year’s edition in memory of Gimondi

11 October 2019

Il Lombardia – start list and TV coverage announced

Lining up for the final Classic Monument of the season are the Tour de France winner Egan Bernal and La Vuelta a España winner Primoz Roglic. Among the other most anticipated riders are Vincenzo Nibali (Il Lombardia 2017 and 2015), Tiesj Benoot, Jacob Fuglsang, Philippe Gilbert, Alejandro Valverde, Adam Yates and Michael Woods, winner of Milano-Torino on Wednesday. There will be 25 teams of seven riders each at the start: 18 UCI WorldTeams and 7 UCI Professional Continental Teams.

08 October 2019

Il Lombardia 2019: the special jersey dedicated to Gimondi unveiled today

The jersey dedicated to the unforgettable Felice Gimondi, designed and produced by Castelli, was unveiled today in the Lombardy Region headquarters, and will be awarded to the winner of the end-of-season Classic Monument on Saturday 12 October. Il Lombardia NamedSport 2019 features many of the Lombardy Region’s iconic cycling places on its route and promises to be spectacular, with many champions at the start.

07 October 2019

Il Lombardia: the provisional entry list has been announced

The provisional entry lists for this week’s Autumn Classics – Milano-Torino NamedSport (9 October), GranPiemonte NamedSport (10 October) and Il Lombardia NamedSport (12 October) – organised by RCS Sport / La Gazzetta dello Sport are announced today.

16 September 2019

Il Lombardia 2019, in memory of Gimondi

The Monument Classic that closes the cycling season will be dedicated to the recently deceased great champion, Felice Gimondi. The race will start from Bergamo and finish in Como after 243km. Compared to the last edition, won by the French rider Thibaut Pinot, the San Fermo della Battaglia returns in the route’s final of the route, to be climbed as well as the Colle Gallo, Colle Brianza, Madonna del Ghisallo, Sormano and Civiglio. A commemorative jersey to celebrate Gimondi will be presented to the race winner.

06 September 2019

Il Lombardia, Milano-Torino and GranPiemonte: invited teams announced

On 9, 10 and 12 October, the races Milano-Torino NamedSport (9 October), GranPiemonte NamedSport (10 October) and Il Lombardia NamedSport (12 October) will bring to a close the European cycling season. Further details of the three races will be unveiled in the next few weeks. Today, the teams – of seven riders each – who will participate in the three races have been announced.

13 October 2018

Chapeau Pinot

Frenchman Thibaut Pinot of Groupama – FDJ won the race of his dreams as he rode away from his last opponent, Bahrain – Merida’s Vincenzo Nibali, the defending champion, for a brilliant solo victory on the shores of Lake Como. Belgium’s Dylan Teuns of BCM Racing Team rounded out the podium of the 112th Il Lombardia NamedSport.

13 October 2018

Thibaut Pinot wins Il Lombardia 2018

The French rider Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) has won the 112th Il Lombardia NamedSport, raced over a 241km route from Bergamo to Como. The second finisher was Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain – Merida), while the third to arrive was Dylan Teuns (BMC Racing Team).